Girl and Boy Scouts, adult leaders honored at annual Mass



The Diocese of Wilmington 2014 annual Scouting awards were presented June 14 at St. Margaret of Scotland Church. All information and names are provided by the Office of Catholic Youth Ministry.


Girl Scouts

Diocesan awards

The Cross Award: Adrianna Alvarez, Erin Danese and Anna Horsman, St. Margaret of Scotland.

The Heart Award: Moria Gervay, Sarah Flenner and Caroline Randolph, Immaculate Heart of Mary.



Bishop Malooly presented diocesan and national awards to Boy and Girl Scouts at a Mass on June 14 at St. Margaret of Scotland Church in Glasgow. (The Dialog/

National awards

Family of God: Emma Johnson and Abigail Nichols, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton; Abigail Torres, St. Joseph, Middletown; Sarah Rowley, St. Jude the Apostle; and Grace DiGiacomo, St. Margaret of Scotland.

I Live My Faith: Annie McTaggart, St. Mary Magdalen.

Marian — Mary, the First Disciple: Shayla Moore, Sacred Heart, Chestertown.


Catholic identity

patch program

Women in Scripture patch: Annie McTaggart, St. Mary Magdalen.

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award: Barbara Dodge, of St. Mary of the Assumption.


Boy Scouts

The Light of Christ religious emblem: Dylan Baker and Andrew Gille, St. Edmond; Adrian Bolinas and Phillip Warnock, Immaculate Heart of Mary; Justin Cooler, Luke Hancox, Adam Kyriss, Jacob Kyriss and Ethan Statham, St. Margaret of Scotland; John Corcia, Liam King and Brian Skiles, St. John the Beloved; Christian Dischert and Dylan Ortega, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton; Brennan Egan, Our Lady of Perpetual Help; and Ian Horton, Holy Cross.

The Parvuli Dei (Children of God) emblem:  Ben Allgeier, Bernard Mulik, St. Ann; Andrew Bebbington, Aidan Diener, Andrew Farris, Carlin Smith, and Daryl Tapel, St. Margaret of Scotland; Adam Budzynski, Daniel Cochran and Thomas Warnock, Immaculate Heart of Mary; Bradley Calloway, St. Dennis; Rhett Davis and Aaron Powers, Holy Cross; Gavin Delasser, Nicholas Nunez, and Joseph Riek, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton; Patrick Donahue, Resurrection; Joseph Fiore, Dover Air Force Base Chapel; Antonio Halsey and Herbert Montgomery, Good Shepherd; Ethan John, Our Lady of Fatima; Jared Nowasielski, Corpus Christi; James Paylor, Immaculate Conception; and John Skiles, St. John the Beloved.

The Ad Altare Dei (Altar of God) emblem: Allistair Bebbington and Nathaniel Catts, St. Margaret of Scotland; Michael McCormack, Ss. Peter and Paul; and Brendan Moriak and Desiderio Pilla, Holy Angels.

Pope Pius XII emblem: Andrew Powers, St. Thomas More Oratory, and Sean Smith, Immaculate Conception.

Bronze Pelican emblem: Murray Smith, Immaculate Conception; William Reynolds, Resurrection; and Ralph Hopkins and Phillip A. Ceresini, St. Anthony of Padua.

St. George Award: Andy Ballintyn, St. John the Beloved; Stephen Chicosky and Kevin O’Donnell, Immaculate Conception; and Martin Graney, St. Elizabeth.


Also for the 11th consecutive year, the National Catholic Committee on Scouting has designated the Diocese of Wilmington as a recipient of the Quality Diocese Award. To earn this recognition, a diocesan committee must plan and execute activities that meet 14 objectives.