O’Neill, Hahn earn basketball player of the year honors


Staff reporter


WILMINGTON — Brian O’Neill of Salesianum School and Adrianna Hahn of Ursuline Academy were named the boys’ and girls’ basketball players of the year Wednesday afternoon by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association.

O’Neill, who will play football at the University of Pittsburgh next year, helped lead the Sals to their first state basketball championship this past weekend vs. St. Georges Tech. The 6-7 forward scored 15 points in the final. He had a career-high of 32 vs. St. Elizabeth on Jan. 30.

Hahn continued her stellar career for Ursuline this season, which ended in the quarterfinals against St. Elizabeth. The junior guard, who has verbally committed to Villanova University, will return to lead the Raiders next season.

Other Catholic school boys players who were honored include Donte DiVincenzo, who joined O’Neill on the first team, and St. Mark’s Nick Papa and Archmere’s Tyler Burns, who both made the third team. Jordan Money of St. Elizabeth received honorable mention.

For the girls, a pair of St. Elizabeth Vikings — Macy Robinson and Sabrina Hackendorn — are first-teamers. Emma Matthews of Padua was named to the third team. Honorable mention went to Alyssa Irons and Laura Hurff of Ursuline, Alex Thomas of St. Elizabeth, and Kate Payne and Amanda Olsen of Archmere.